frequently asked questions

Prev page 12 of 13 Next


12. The Specific Competencies

The Specific Competencies (sometimes also called “Technical Competencies”) refer to the individual competencies that CA students may demonstrate over their term of practical experience, which are grouped into six categories:

  • Performance Measurement and Reporting;
  • Assurance;
  • Taxation;
  • Governance, Strategy and Risk Management;
  • Management Decision-Making; and
  • Finance.

Each category has several underlying competencies. A complete list of competencies can be found in Appendix 1 of the PER.


CA students develop and demonstrate the Specific Competencies in order to meet the Depth and Breadth requirements of the PER in order to become a CA.


All CA students are required to gain the Depth and Breadth of competency development of a newly qualified CA as set out in Section 3.3 of the PER.

Q: Some of the Specific Competencies refer to "within an entity". Does this mean it can only be developed if working within and not for an entity?

No. All of the Specific Competencies can be achieved from either an internal or external perspective.

Q: The last competency in Assurance includes participating in a presentation to stakeholders. Is this limited to participating in a presentation to the Audit Committee or Board of Directors?

No. Stakeholders includes, but is not limited to, the Audit Committee and Board of Directors. It would also include participating in or holding a meeting with a client (internal or external).

Q: Is it possible to develop the last competency in Governance, Strategy and Risk Management without exposure to information systems risk?

Yes. Information systems risk is only one specific example within the broader context of this competency.


Prev page 12 of 13 Next


Chartered Professional Accountants/ Comptables professionnels agréés

Welcome to CPA Canada!

CPA Canada is the national organization established to support unification of the Canadian accounting profession under the Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA) designation. CPA Canada provides services to all CPA, CA, CMA and CGA accounting bodies that have unified or are committed to unification.

Our integrated CPA Canada website is currently in development and will launch in fall 2014. Until that time, all our existing resources, services and information are available through the CICA, CMA Canada and CGA-Canada legacy websites, or through newly developed microsites designed to provide specific CPA content.

Bienvenue à CPA Canada!

CPA Canada est l’organisation nationale établie pour soutenir l'unification de la profession comptable canadienne sous la bannière du titre de comptable professionnel agréé (CPA). CPA Canada fournit des services à toutes les organisations comptables de CPA, de CA, de CMA et de CGA qui se sont déjà unifiées ou qui sont engagées dans le processus d’unification.

Le nouveau site de CPA Canada est actuellement en développement et sera mis en ligne à l’automne 2014. Entre-temps, toutes nos ressources et tous nos services sont accessibles sur les sites d’origine de l’ICCA, de CMA Canada et de CGA-Canada, ou sur des microsites nouvellement créés afin de donner accès à du contenu spécifiquement CPA.